Log of incidents involving Chevy Volts or other EV’s

I will continue to update this with any new incidents I find, or are posted in comments.

#1  This link involves a Toyota that does not stop gets airborne and totals a Chevy Volt.  A mangled mess.  Volt ok even though there is not much left of it.  The Toyota catches fire.

http://thelcn.com/2012/05/23/driver-plows-into-two-cars-in-geneseo-driveway/

#2  This one involves a Tesla Roadster that gets totaled by another Toyota that cannot stop.

http://www.greencarreports.com/news/1037103_tesla-roadster-toyota-prius-vw-touareg-crash-in-denmark

#3 Volt driver survived a terrible deadly accident.

http://www.nbclosangeles.com/news/local/Granada-Hills-Deadly-Fatal-Crash-200784711.html

#4 My 2012 Volt gets smacked in rear by a Nissan taxi cab driver.  My Volt perfect even after sending us 10′ forward, just a few mild abrasions on the rear bumper that I just rubbed out.  Taxi Cab front bumper all pushed in and everything is off whack, including front bumper hood and side panel.   Chevy Volts are built right.

#5 Tesla Model S hits an electric pole.

http://green.autoblog.com/2013/08/15/oh-the-irony-tesla-model-s-hits-electric-pole-causes-blackout/

#6  There was a Volt in the middle of a massive 32-vehicle pile-up on the LIE on 12/19/2012. You can see it at a photo in this link:

http://abclocal.go.com/wabc/gallery?section=news&id=8926130&photo=2

#7 Jim Illo says:  A good thread here with photos of a Volt totalled on the NJ Turnpike in November 2011:

http://gm-volt.com/forum/showthread.php?9776-I-totaled-Volt-187

That initial impact wasn’t too bad… but then the bus hit us and it was such a loud BANG of an explosion, there was a second where I was too scared to turn around and look at my kids. You could hear the bus’s engine IN the car… the car then filled with a burning rubber smell and smoke and it wobbled from side to side a bit. You could hear the tires chirping as the traction control held the car in a straight line until we were able to pull to the side. An amazing performance actually. It’s hard to remember the details, but we were probably going about 40 at the time of the impact. If we were in a SUV or another top heavy car, I felt we would have flipped over or completely lost control of the car. The Volt was really, really good and held mostly steady and straight. Onstar came on immediately after we stopped, just like in the commercials. There were other people that ran over and asked about calling the police, but I told them that Onstar had already done that. The rear, passenger door was stuck and I had to pull as hard as I could to open it. The back glass completely shattered and the amazing thing is I couldn’t find any, I mean any, glass on the kids. In fact, I couldn’t find much of it anywhere! In the end, everyone was ok.

#8 Jim Illo  says:  A terrible crash with Model S and a Honda Accord. It looks like the Model S driver was trying to pass/race a Mercedes into an area where the road went from 3 lanes to 2 and hit the Accord head on. Really bad.

http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/showthread.php/15404-Tesla-head-on-collision-with-a-Honda

6 comments on “Log of incidents involving Chevy Volts or other EV’s

  1. Joseph Wallace says:

    BTW Some idiot driving a stupid Nissan rear ended me at a stop light. His Nissan front bumper was all pushed in off center. My Volt only sustained a few light abrasions on the rear bumper. Should buff out ok, and I will have my perfect car back. This still bothers me, you don’t know how much I love my car.

  2. Gatsbxy says:

    What is the `point of this list?

  3. Jim Illo says:

    A good thread here with photos of a Volt totalled on the NJ Turnpike in November 2011:

    http://gm-volt.com/forum/showthread.php?9776-I-totaled-Volt-187

    That initial impact wasn’t too bad… but then the bus hit us and it was such a loud BANG of an explosion, there was a second where I was too scared to turn around and look at my kids. You could hear the bus’s engine IN the car… the car then filled with a burning rubber smell and smoke and it wobbled from side to side a bit. You could hear the tires chirping as the traction control held the car in a straight line until we were able to pull to the side. An amazing performance actually. It’s hard to remember the details, but we were probably going about 40 at the time of the impact. If we were in a SUV or another top heavy car, I felt we would have flipped over or completely lost control of the car. The Volt was really, really good and held mostly steady and straight. Onstar came on immediately after we stopped, just like in the commercials. There were other people that ran over and asked about calling the police, but I told them that Onstar had already done that. The rear, passenger door was stuck and I had to pull as hard as I could to open it. The back glass completely shattered and the amazing thing is I couldn’t find any, I mean any, glass on the kids. In fact, I couldn’t find much of it anywhere! In the end, everyone was ok.

  4. Jim Illo says:

    A terrible crash with Model S and a Honda Accord. It looks like the Model S driver was trying to pass/race a Mercedes into an area where the road went from 3 lanes to 2 and hit the Accord head on. Really bad.

    http://www.teslamotorsclub.com/showthread.php/15404-Tesla-head-on-collision-with-a-Honda

Leave a Reply

